Opening Travel to Cuba Passes House Agriculture Committee

A good step forward

Yesterday, the House Agriculture Committee passed HR 4645, a bill which would ease restrictions to agriculture sales to Cuba and end the travel ban for all US citizens, by 25-20. The bill was introduced by committee chairman, Collin Peterson (D-MN).

This vote is a good first step in getting this bill passed, and opening travel to all. It is the furthest a travel bill has ever gotten! However, the bill is still in front of two other committees, Foreign Affairs and Financial Services. We'll keep you updated on when it will come before those committees.

In the meantime, if your congressperson is not already a co-sponsor of HR 4645, give them a call and ask them to become one today!

If you don't know who your Members of Congress are, go to and type in your zip code to find out or give us a call at 773-293-2964. Below is a list of IL Members of Congress, their foreign policy staffers and their phone numbers. When you call, ask to speak to the foreign policy aide. If he or she is not available, leave a voicemail message.

*Bobby Rush (D-1st) - Speak with Angelle Kwemo, 202-225-4372

Jesse Jackson (D-2nd) - Speak with Charles Dujon, 202-225-0773

Dan Lipinski (D-3rd) - Speak with Eric Lausten, 202-225-5701

Luis Gutierrez (D-4th) - Speak with Evelyn Rodriguez, 202-225-8303

Mike Quigley (D-5th) - Speak with Robyn Russell, 202-225-4061

Peter Roskam (R-6th) - Speak with Brigitta Johnson, 202-225-4561

Danny Davis (D-7th) - Speak with Caleb Gilchrist, 202-225-5006

Melissa Bean (D-8th) - Speak with Liz Jurinka, 202-225-3711

*Jan Schakowsky (D-9th­) - Speak with Nina Besser, 202-225-2111

Mark Kirk (R-10th) - Speak with Jeffrey Phillips, 202-225-4835

**Debbie Halvorson (D-11th) - Speak with Justin Cajindos, 202-225-3635

Jerry Costello (D-12th) - Speak with Katie Stonewater, 202-225-5661

*Judy Biggert (R-13th) - Speak with Griffin Foster, 202-225-3515

Bill Foster (D-14th) - Speak with Kyle Simpson, 202-225-2976

*Timothy Johnson (R-15th) - Speak with Jen Mascho, 202-225-2371

Donald Manzullo (R-16th) - Speak with Nien Su, 202-225-5676

Phil Hare (D-17th) ­- Speak with Kemi Jemilohun, 202-225-5905

Aaron Schock (R-18th) - Speak with Steve Shearer, 202-225-6201

John Shimkus (R-19th) - Speak with Greta Joynes, 202-225-5271

* indicates that the Representative is a co-sponsor of HR 4645, please call and thank them!

** indicates a member of the Agriculture Committee that voted in favor of HR 4645, please call and thank them!